Brittlebank Park

Brittlebank Park

The Department of Parks is responsible for the design, construction, maintenance, and repairs of the city's new and existing parks, playgrounds, green spaces, facilities, and buildings.

Property & Facilities

The city currently owns and is responsible for:

  • 120 parks which consist of approximately 1,809 acres of parks and open space
  • 211 buildings which total 3.67 million square feet of building space


The Department of Parks is comprised of 10 specialized divisions:

  • Administration
  • Capital Projects
  • Construction
  • Electrical
  • Facilities Maintenance
  • Grounds Maintenance
  • Horticulture
  • Joe Riley Ball Park
  • Keep Charleston Beautiful
  • Urban Forestry