Fire Operations

The Fire Operations Division comprises the largest personnel group in the Charleston Fire Department (CFD). Personnel in this division operate from 17 stations and are divided into four geographic battalions located within the Peninsula, Daniel Island, West Ashley, James Island and Johns Island. The four battalions are comprised of seventeen engines, four ladders, one heavy rescue and four battalion chiefs, staffed by three shifts of personnel. Special operations are a group within the Operations Division comprised of personnel who cross-staff the department’s hazardous materials response team, marine team (fireboat and land based marine response firefighting team), technical rescue team, wildland urban interface, tactical emergency medics and honor guard.

The core responsibility of the Operations Division is to efficiently and effectively deliver fire, rescue, EMS and special hazards mitigation services to the residents and visitors of Charleston, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year. The Operations Division also provides support to the Fire Marshal Division’s fire prevention/community outreach programs and the Training Division’s programs.

Fire Operations team member are assigned to one of  three 24-hours shifts (A, B, and C shift). Each shift is comprised of battalion chiefs, captains, engineers, assistant engineers, and firefighters.  The Deputy Chief of Operations leads the group and supervises an Assistant Chief of Operations, Assistant Chief of Special Operations, and the Assistant Chief of Training.